

March 12, 2021

Norris Cochran
Acting Secretary
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
200 Independence Avenue, S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20201

Liz Richter
Acting Administrator
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
200 Independence Avenue, S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20201

Dear Acting Secretary Cochran and Acting Administrator Richter,

On behalf of Illinois' more than 200 hospitals and nearly 40 health systems, we commend the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on actions taken thus far to support healthcare providers during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. HHS and CMS have provided information, guidance, and most importantly funding, including through the Medicare Accelerated and Advance Payment Program (MAAPP), without which most of our hospitals would be unable to continue serving their communities.

To that end, we urge you to use your authority under the Social Security Act to delay recoupment of MAAPP funds through the end of the public health emergency (PHE) and adjust the final settlement date by the same period of time. At a minimum, recoupment should be postponed until additional Provider Relief Fund (PRF) payments are dispersed to help offset the financial impacts of the fall and winter surges. Illinois hospitals experienced deep financial losses and increased expenses during the second half of 2020, putting numerous hospitals in an extremely tenuous financial position as they await additional Provider Relief Fund (PRF) disbursements required by Congress in the Consolidated Appropriations Act. Yet, even as they await this critically needed relief, many will be forced to begin MAAPP repayment in just a matter of weeks.

We recognize the significant amount of dollars advanced through MAAPP and appreciate the financial concerns your agencies may have about altering the repayment terms. Unfortunately, the COVID-related costs incurred by our hospitals and health systems continue to outpace financial relief. Our communities depend on hospitals not only for lifesaving healthcare, but also for jobs, non-clinical services, and

TRUSTEES & OFFICERS

C<mark>hair</mark> Caren Teite

Karen Teitelbaum Sinai Chicago

Chair-Elect Ted Rogalski *Genesis Medical Center* 

Immediate Past Chair Phillip Kambic Riverside Healthcare

Treasurer J.P. Gallagher NorthShore University HealthSystem

Secretary Mary Lou Mastro Edward-Elmhurst Health

President A.J. Wilhelmi Illinois Health and Hospital Association

Steven Airhart Hartgrove Behavioral Health System and Garfield Park Behavioral Hospital

Jeremy Bradford
SSM Good Samaritan Hospital

Katherine Bunting Fairfield Memorial Hospital

Ruth Colby Silver Cross Hospital

M. Edward Cunningham Heartland Regional Medical Center

William Dorsey, MD Jackson Park Hospital and Medical Center

Dean M. Harrison Northwestern Memorial HealthCare

Maureen Kahn Blessing Health System

Omar B. Lateef, DO Rush University Medical Center

James Leonard, MD

Michael McManus Memorial Regional Health Services

George Miller The Loretto Hospital

Keith Parrott

José R. Sánchez

William Santulli Advocate Aurora Health

David Schreiner Katherine Shaw Bethea Hospital

Robert Sehring
OSF HealthCare

Allan M. Spooner

Franciscan Health Olympia Fields

Mary Starmann-Harrison
Haspital Sisters Health System

Steven D. Tenhouse Kirby Medical Center

Shawn P. Vincent

Brenda J. Wolf
La Rabida Children's Hospital

the economic stimulus a hospital provides for surrounding businesses. That is why it is so vital to support hospitals through the public health emergency before requiring them to begin repaying these loans.

Thank you for considering these important actions. We appreciate the work HHS and CMS have done thus far to guide the healthcare industry through these unprecedented times, and we look forward to continuing to partner with you and the agency in the future.

Sincerely,

A.J. Wilhelmi President & CEO Illinois Health and Hospital Association

cc: The Honorable Dick Durbin

The Honorable Tammy Duckworth

The Honorable Bobby Rush (D-1-IL)

The Honorable Robin Kelly (D-2-IL)

The Honorable Marie Newman (D-3-IL)

The Honorable Jesús "Chuy" García (D-4-IL)

The Honorable Mike Quigley (D-5-IL)

The Honorable Sean Casten (D-6-IL)

The Honorable Danny K. Davis (D-7-IL)

The Honorable Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-8-IL)

The Honorable Jan Schakowsky (D-9-IL)

The Honorable Brad Schneider (D-10-IL)

The Honorable Bill Foster (D-11-IL)

The Honorable Mike Bost (R-12-IL)

The Honorable Rodney L. Davis (R-13-IL)

The Honorable Lauren Underwood (D-14-IL)

The Honorable Mary Miller (R-15-IL)

The Honorable Adam Kinzinger (R-16-IL)

The Honorable Cheri Bustos (D-17-IL)

The Honorable Darin LaHood (R-18-IL)