13 Counties on COVID-19 Warning List

Aug. 7, 2020

The Illinois Dept. of Public Health (IDPH) today reported 13 counties are considered to be at a warning level for COVID-19. Those counties are: Cass, Coles, Grundy, Iroquois, Jackson, Monroe, Perry, Saline, St. Clair, Tazewell, Union, Williamson, and Winnebago.

A county enters a warning level when two or more COVID-19 risk indicators that measure the amount of COVID-19 increase.

IDPH says the 13 counties saw cases or outbreaks associated with businesses, long-term care facilities, large social gatherings, and out of state travel, with several instances of multiple cases among family members in the same, large household, and many university and college students not wearing face coverings or social distancing but gathering in large groups and at bars.

The IDPH warning list has been shifting from week to week, with some counties improving and coming off and others seeing COVID-19 increases and being added to the list.