30 Counties on IDPH COVID-19 Warning List

Aug. 28, 2020

The Illinois Dept. of Public Health (IDPH) today reported 30 counties are considered to be at a warning level for COVID-19: Bureau, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Cook, Cumberland, Effingham, Fayette, Greene, Grundy, Henderson, Henry, Jasper, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Johnson, Madison, Monroe, Morgan, Perry, Pike, Randolph, Sangamon, Shelby, St. Clair, Union, Warren, White, Will and Williamson.

The number of counties at warning level has more than doubled since Aug. 14, when 14 counties were on the list. A week ago, the number had grown to 20 counties. A county enters a warning level with an increase in two or more COVID-19 risk indicators that measure the amount of COVID-19.

IDPH says the listed counties saw cases or outbreaks associated weddings, large gatherings, long-term care facilities and other congregate settings, travel to neighboring states, bars, and spread among members of the same household who are not isolating at home. Cases connected to schools are also being reported.

Public health officials say they are observing people not social distancing or using face coverings, as well as gathering in large groups. In some counties, local law enforcement and states’ attorneys are not enforcing important mitigation measures like social distancing and the wearing of face coverings.

A map and information of each county’s status can be found on the IDPH website.