Four Illinois Counties at Warning Level for COVID-19

July 24, 2020

The Illinois Dept. of Public Health (IDPH) says four counties – Adams, LaSalle, Peoria and Randolph – are considered to be at a warning level for COVID-19. A county enters a warning level when two or more COVID-19 risk indicators that measure the amount of COVID-19 increase. IDPH says these counties saw outbreaks associated with business and risky behavior, including:

  • Adams County: larger social events, healthcare exposure, travel to hotspots including those in neighboring Missouri and Iowa, places of worship, and youth sports.   
  • LaSalle County: large family and social gatherings, increase in cases among people younger than 29 years, younger people visiting bars and attending larger social events, and inconsistencies with masking requirements.   
  • Peoria County: increases in cases among people younger than 29 years, large gatherings including 4th of July parties, and people traveling to Florida, Iowa, Texas, and Wisconsin.   
  • Randolph County: congregate settings, numerous bars not complying with distancing and masking, a large party with more than 200 people, and among households.

A map and information on every Illinois county’s status can be found on the IDPH website at