State Expands COVID-19 Warning List to Eleven Counties

July 31, 2020

The Illinois Dept. of Public Health (IDPH) today reported 11 counties are at a warning level for COVID-19. A county enters a warning level when it experiences an increase in two or more COVID-19 risk indicators from the state's COVID-19 Resurgence Mitigation plan.  

The eleven counties at a warning level are: Cass, Gallatin, Jackson, Jo Daviess, Johnson, Perry, Randolph, Saline, Sangamon, St. Clair, and White.

IDPH says these counties saw outbreaks associated with business operations and activities posing higher risk for disease spread, including: school graduation ceremonies; a rise in cases among late teens and 20s; parties and social gatherings; people going to bars; long-term care outbreaks; clusters of cases associated with restaurants and churches; and big sports events including soccer, golf, and softball tournaments. Residents of many communities are not wearing face coverings, and public health officials are finding that most contacts to cases are also testing positive.

A map and information of each county's status can be found on the IDPH website.